Things I’ve never done

1. I’ve never been latudinally south of Tijuana, Mexico.

2. I’ve never had a professional manicure or pedicure.

3. I’ve never enjoyed eating brussels sprouts. No, not even that way. Or that way.

4. I’ve never been sexually or romantically attracted to a woman.

5. I’ve never been on 4 of the 7 continents.

6. I’ve never smoked a cigarette.

7. I’ve never had a pet ferret.

8. I’ve never gambled in North America.

9. I’ve never been on any sort of a boat that wasn’t a mass transit ferry. Unless you count a rental rowboat.

10. I’ve never had Baked Alaska.

11. I’ve never had a one-night stand.

12. I’ve never owned stock.

13. I’ve never been in a hot air balloon.

14. I’ve never caught a firefly.

15. I’ve never officiated a wedding.

16. I’ve never taken a beach vacation.

17. I’ve never seen a dead person outside of the casket viewing of my grandfather. (He looked plastinated.)

18. I’ve never written a letter to my congressperson.

19. I’ve never been afraid of creepy crawlies (bugs, spiders, snakes, rodents, etc.). I hate cockroaches, though.

20. I’ve never written any fiction longer than about five typed pages.

5 responses to “Things I’ve never done

  1. Have you heard of the Day Zero project? It’s where you do 100 things in 1,001 pages. I’m doing it, the expiration date on my list is 9/28/14. Two of the things you mention are on my list, Baked Alaska and a hot air balloon ride. If you want to see my list, it’s posted as a separate page on my blog.

    Unfortunately, I have seen dead people outside of a casket. I work in elderly housing….sooner or later a Property Manager will find someone who’s passed away of natural causes in their apartment.. I’ve had it happen twice, the first time I wasn’t expecting it, the second time I was. I’m sure that it will happen again, and it won’t be any easier the third time.

  2. So, Em, are these things you *want* to do, or things you are fine with not doing? Inquiring minds want to know… !!!

    (Aside to Ginny Given – I went and read your 100 list – very interesting!)

    • Ginny, some are things I’d like to do and some I have no interest in doing. Which fall into which category can be left as an exercise to the reader.

  3. Well, you’ve got plenty of time. I’ve done almost all of your list (whether I liked it or not) but there are some which have not yet occurred, and may never. However, it’s funny how things can come up. I *finally* learned to enjoy brussels sprouts (the recipe was this sort of roasted garlic thing) last winter–totally unexpected.

Leave a Reply

