Hear ye, hear me

So! I’m several weeks late to this party, but I figured this would make a good post for NaBloPoMo. After trying to record this on the laptop out in the greenhouse where I’ve been doing my internetting the last few days, with no success, I used the desktop, put the movie on a thumb drive, and transferred the movie to the laptop. It took over an hour to upload to youtube. I don’t know what that’s all about, but here you go.

I mention at one point about how Northern Californians have a tendency to swallow consonants in the middle of words. I think basically we turn all internal ds and ts into glottal stops, so they sound alike. Also, I meant to mention my observed differences between the speech of northern and southern Californians – basically, to me, SoCal natives tend to draw their words out a bit more, and are more likely to go up? at the end of a sentence? Also, they put a “the” at the beginning of highway numbers which makes no sense and totally irks me. My brother-in-law is from southern California and his influence rubbed off on my sister, so now she says “the 101” instead of just “101” as well and gah. Also, yes, I do have a slight lisp. It’s a long story as to why I still have it, but at this point I’m pretty much stuck with it.

Anyhow, if you haven’t done it already or seen other people’s accent vlogs, here’s the instructions so you can follow along:

Say the following words:
Aunt, route, wash, oil, theater, iron, salmon, caramel, fire, water, sure, data, ruin, crayon, toilet, New Orleans, pecan, both, again, probably, spitting image, Alabama, lawyer, coupon, mayonnaise, syrup, pajamas, caught
And answer these questions:
What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?
What is the bug that curls into a ball when you touch it?
What is the bubbly carbonated drink called?
What do you call gym shoes?
What do you say to address a group of people?
What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs?
What do you call your grandparents?
What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket?
What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining?
What is the thing you use to change the TV channel?

2 responses to “Hear ye, hear me

  1. Awwwww this was so much fun! Thank you for sharing it with us! 😀

    I want to do one now, too!

  2. OH MAN, you have a guest appearance from ROLY-POLYS. YOU WIN.

    PS- I ALSO do the accent picking up thing, which is STRANGE and also I don’t know hang out with any Canadians, but many folks think I have a Canadian accent. I sometimes say ‘a-bowt.’ What’s THAT all a-bowt?

Leave a Reply

