Au Revoir, 2010. You will not be missed.

It’s that time again, where I recap the year using Sundry‘s end-of-year meme. I’ve done this many times before.

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before?

I tried two different persimmons. (I didn’t like either of them)
I went on a road trip all the way to the east coast and back, set foot in 7 new states (Iowa, Ohio, New Jersey, Connecticut, West Virginia, North Carolina, and Tennessee), and met the Turkey family for the first time.
I rode 33 miles on my bike in one day.
I wrote about infertility on my blog.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?


Mostly, I hoped that in 2009 we’d find jobs in California and move, or I’d get pregnant, or both. We did move (yay!) but no pregnancy and no (permanent) jobs just yet. I don’t plan to make any for this year, other than just generally eating healthy and exercising, which I do every year anyway.


3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Nobody especially close – a friend in Denver had her first baby, as did a friend in Seattle, and a high school friend had her third baby. I have a few friends who are currently pregnant, so I expect they’ll be on next year’s survey.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Nobody close to me, but Dan’s grandma died right before we moved. It was not unexpected, but still sad.

5. What places did you visit?


My passport expired in May and I’ve yet to renew it. We drove through 20 states and set foot in 17 of them during our big summer road trip, and made two trips to California in the early part of the year.

6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?

Hahaha. Ha. I would like gainful employment, to be living in the Bay Area and not mooching off my mom’s generosity, and to be pregnant. In that order.

7. What dates from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

I’ll always remember the amazing party we threw at the end of March when we were visiting California (a combination birthday/anniversary), the road trip, and the six weeks of insanity from the middle of August to the end of September wherein we found out the reason for the no pregnancy, got the opportunity to move to California, I quit my job, Dan’s Grandma died, and we moved.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?


Getting through that aforementioned six weeks with my sanity mostly intact. It was, to say the least, not an easy time.

9. What was your biggest failure?

It’s hard not to think of the entire year as a failure. I failed to get pregnant, I failed to find a new job before or after the move (thus far), I failed to finish all the Christmas presents I planned to make because I lost over a week of time with nonfunctional hands. I failed to get skinny. I failed to be perfect.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

As rough as 2010 was for a variety of reasons, I was pretty healthy the whole year. I had a couple of colds and a few stress-induced neck/shoulder pain incidents, but that was about it. Unless you count when the cat chomped into my hand and tore out the back of my fingernail (warning: GRAPHIC), and I had to take monster antibiotics, which, despite my best efforts, resulted in typical but still uncomfortable side-effects. Luckily, that’s all done now and I’m mostly back to normal.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

8 feet of space on a trailer, where we tetris’d all our stuff, and so we didn’t have to haul it ourselves over two sets of mountains.

12. Where did most of your money go?

Rent, bills, groceries. We lived 2010 pretty lean, and as a result we’re still doing OK even after 3 months of mutual unemployment.

13. What did you get really excited about?

Friends’ pregnancies and new babies. The move, once we truly made the decision to do it. I hardly had time to get excited about the big road trip since it was almost a last-minute thing, but once we started planning for it I got super excited because I knew we’d get to see so many people along the way. It was truly a great adventure.

14. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Everyone who made an “It Gets Better” video. People who have been really supportive. Dan, as always.

15. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

John McCain, particularly around the DADT debacle.

16. What song will always remind you of 2010?

This one, which sums up how I feel about 2010 in general.

15. Compared to this time last year, are you:


– happier or sadder? Happier, but that’s not hard to do. Last year we’d just lost our beloved cat.
– thinner or fatter? I’m not sure, probably about the same.
– richer or poorer? Also a difficult one to answer. Poorer, I guess.

16. What do you wish you’d done more of?


I got into a pretty big rut, creatively. I wish I’d done more creative things. Also, I wish I’d realized we could swim at one of the other YMCAs that had a pool before summer, because swimming is awesome.

17. What do you wish you’d done less of?


I wish I’d expended less energy on trying to get pregnant for so long. If we’d done the testing sooner, we would have known the problem sooner and I wouldn’t have spent so much time beating myself up over it every cycle that didn’t work.

18. How did you spend Christmas?

Christmas eve, we drove down to the East Bay and had appetizers and drinks with several of Dan’s aunts, uncles, cousins, their kids, and assorted friends. Then we drove back up to Santa Rosa, stayed overnight at my mom’s house there, and did all of Christmas day there. We came back up here to stay in our beds Christmas night and went back down to Santa Rosa on the 26th to do my extended family Christmas thing.

19. What was your favorite TV program?

So many good ones: Mad Men, Fringe, Lost, and getting to catch up on older shows like Doctor Who.

20. What were your favorite books of the year?

I read more books in the last three months of 2010 than I read in probably the previous two or even three years. Hooray for libraries! Standouts: the Hunger Games books (though I got the set for Christmas from Dan, I’ve yet to read the third one), Scar by China Mieville, Field Work by Mischa Berlinski.

21. What were your favorite films of the year?
Inception, Black Swan, The Social Network, How to Train your Dragon,
22. Did you fall in love in 2010?
More in love with Dan. We went through some pretty rough stuff, especially in the latter half of the year, and we’re still good. And we got Robin, and while it may be a while before I love her as much as I loved Petra, I still love her.

23. What did you do for your birthday in 2010?

I felt sorry for myself. I wasn’t pregnant (yet again), I tried to plan a party that nobody wanted to attend, and I cried a lot. I made up for it by throwing an awesome party two weeks later.

24. Did you make some new friends this year?

Yes, but mostly I reconnected with old friends. It’s been nice getting to know people all over again. Also, I finally got to meet some friends from inside the computer and hope to meet more in 2011.

25. What did you want and get?
Robin turned out to be a good kitty. We moved to California.

26. What did you want and not get?

The same thing I’ve wanted and not gotten for the last 18 months: a fetus.

27. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

To cap off our leap of faith with some sort of satisfactory culmination; or, in layman’s terms, if I’d gotten a damn job. Because once one of us gets a job, we can move, and then the other person will have an easier time getting a job, and then once we’re both employed we can get the IVF show on the road.

28. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?

In the first part of the year, it was the same as it’s been for ages: fitting my muscular body into fashions meant for svelte people. In the last three months, it’s been: Whatever’s clean(ish) and will keep me warm, since we’re attempting to save on energy by keeping the heat low.

29. What kept you sane?

Exercise. Alcohol. Dan.

30. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

I’ve gone ahead and added Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Darren Criss (who I’m pretty sure bats for the other team, and is also significantly younger than I am) to my List. But in all seriousness, I’m going to mention the It Gets Better thing again, because I think it was incredibly important.

31. What political issue stirred you the most?

Gay marriage and DADT.

32. Who did you miss?

Petra. Friends and family, who I see far more frequently now. Yay!

33. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010

Last year I wrote about patience, I think. This year, I learned that the only way to get something to change is to start it yourself.

9 responses to “Au Revoir, 2010. You will not be missed.

  1. You are not a failure in any way shape or form. You are an incredible, accomplished young woman. I am in awe of your accomplishments and intellect.
    Mom

  2. Chiming in with Mom – failure doesn’t even belong in your vocab. You are smart, fun to be with, and you have your own unique style. And you have great courage in so many ways. Please don’t be too hard on yourself!

  3. I’m glad you failed to be perfect. Perfect people aren’t any fun at all.

    Sounds like 2010 was a year of transition for you, and that 2011 will be the year of Making Things Happen. Just remember you have your own personal cheering section here in Pittsburgh.

  4. Hey Emily
    I agree with Jive Turkey.
    Sometimes the road to our goals is circuitous.
    btw
    I deleted my Mirth blog. I had been neglecting it, was not devoted to it anymore. Have kept the original photo blog.

  5. http://nocabanashere.blogspot.com/

    Hey Mle, I think it’s in my little name link, but here it is as well.
    I just don’t have as much to say (or time to say it) anymore, but the photo blog was actually the first blog I ever did, and I still keep up with it from time to time.

Leave a Reply

